18 Months

20161008_111717

Well this is a bit overdue because BG will be 19 months tomorrow, but I wanted to post 18 months because it feels like a milestone…

This past month has been… difficult.

BG experienced an explosion of growth both physically and mentally.

At her 18 month check-up, she measured greater than the 99% for height and head circumference (so, off the charts) and 90th percentile for weight. She is wearing 18-24 month clothing, and can still wear her 12-18 month clothing–except the length is too short. I’ve already begun to buy and dress her in 2T clothing, and honestly for length she can totally wear 3T but the width is too big.

People in Louisiana (Cajuns) are apparently a bit shorter (in general) than the corn-fed German folk of the Midwest, owing to their French-Spanish roots. This is noteworthy because BG is taller than any of the boys her age, and at least one of the mothers felt the need to point it out–she was *horrified* when she found out our kids were the same age but my daughter is inches taller than her son. This depresses me because I fully realize that BG will be ostracized for her height and made to feel bad by insecure people who think women should be petite with child-bearing hips and be barefoot in the kitchen.

Of course I’ll teach her that they are idiots.

BG and I have been checking out parks with friends and she is getting better at climbing and braver about going down slides. In fact, I am afraid of heights and some of the slides she expects me to go down with her are pretty freakin’ steep for my taste.

It’s hard when your kid is braver than you are.

And my toddler is getting bolder by the day! Oh man, the AT-TI-TUDE. If she wants something she wants it NOW–I ask her to “please be patient” but it’s useless. She will whine and scream until her bidding is done. She still hits but lately only me, not other kids. I notice her behavior takes a turn when she wants my attention or when she is tired, so I try to stay one step ahead of her in order to curb the behaviors. Sometimes it works.

Other times I am calling Mr. MLACS every 20 minutes asking when he’ll be home.

 

Ok, so back to BG. She is really trying to talk but only a handful of words are clear. She uses lots of pointing, squealing, crying, and tugging on me to get her point across. She is easily frustrated and has nelt downs. I do my best to help her articulate herself. But sometimes I’m busy and I don’t respond quickly enough and she melts down and all I can do is scowl and wait for her to catch her breath.

Her impatience–she gets that from me.

But the good stuff… there are a lot of precious moments at 18 months. We took her to build-a-bear and she picked out a puppy and now this stuffed puppy is ger faaaaavorite. BG feeds her puffs and takes her on walks on her leash, brushes her, etc. BG gets excited about all the little things, like when I let her help me bake, or ask her to throw away trash/open the fridge/put groceries in the cart/etc. It’s adorable to see her light up when she takes part in everyday tasks! She loves to dance and it is the cuuutest thing to watch her twirl and shake her tush to The Wiggles, and she often reaches for me so we can dance together holding hands.

In those moments that my heart could burst with happiness!

And BG gives me big sloppy kisses now, which is new. She also kisses Mr. MLACS, but I do not encourage kissing other people. We blow kisses or high-five. I definitely do not believe in forcing affection on kids or from kids, so you’ll never hear me tell BG to give someone a hug or a kiss. I cringe at that. She has been extra cuddly at times because she has been teething hardcore. If I’m busy and she wants to be held I just pop her in our silk ringsling or her toddler tula. I haven’t seen a lot of babywearing folk around here, so no “tula in the wild” calls yet.

We are STILL nursing! Can you believe it?! I feel so lucky to have come this far. No lie though, I’m ready to quit whenever she is. Maybe even before she is, though I do not want to deal with weaning her before she is ready. She was just nursing at wake/naps/bed, but now that she’s teething and going through this big growth spurt/leap, she is on the boob constantly.

This month has been challenging for BG and I both–moreso for her, because it’s tough growing inches, cutting teeth, and navigating new physical and mental abilities each day. When she falls or gets mad sometimes I hold her and I tell her “I know it’s hard being little”. I get it. I know I’m not always as fair or understanding as I should be, but I try.

I love her SO much ❤

XOXO,

MLACS

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “18 Months

  1. Your corn fed German comment of the midwest cracked me up. My husband’s family is German but they are not tall by any means. Probably why my daughter is so petite too! Oh yes, the whining. I keep working with M saying “help please” when she gets frustrated. It’s finally starting to work. I ask her lots of questions because I know she mostly understands and that helps with some of the whining. I think 18-24 months is a tough age because they’re trying to communicate but can’t always articulate what they want.

  2. You’re the best mama, the best friend anyone could ask for, and there’s no other friend I’d rather go thru this “tough” stage with. So glad we found each other – and our littles did, too. ❤️️

Leave a Reply

