ONE!

20160319_130343

My BG has just celebrated her FIRST BIRTHDAY!

I went all-out and threw her a luau-themed birthday party. It was a lot of work but it paid off–BG loved it–and all the kids and parents enjoyed the food and activities. For one of the activities I set up a DIY lei station, where you could string your own lei with colorful paper flowers and straws. I put the tutorial for that up on my other blog. I made *everything* gluten-free, and the menu included: Hawaiian bbq chicken, coconut sticky rice, fresh pineapple, white chocolate macadamia nut cookies, and guava thumbprint cookies. I ordered her cupcakes from a local baker, and those were strawberry with cream cheese icing (I still have a dozen cupcakes in my freezer for a rainy day, yay!) BG beamed when everyone sang Happy Birthday to her, but she wasn’t the least bit interested in the cupcake. She really liked the guava cookies though! 

I bought some decorations from Etsy, including one of those “my first birthday” posters (luau themed, of course). BG now has 6 teeth. She is 31 inches tall and weighs 19lbs. Her favorite food is sweet potato. Her favorite book is “That’s Not My Penguin”. She loves her puppy and kitty. She waves, high-fives, says “mama” and “dada”, and she can make hand signs for “more”, “all done”, and “milk”. She can walk with just holding onto one finger (so barely supported) but she has not taken her first independent steps yet. 

For her birthday I upcycled a table and chairs for her, which turned out beautifully. I also bought her a little kitchen and plan to begin painting it this week (ok probably next week). I already purchased her baking set, pots, pans, utensils *and* a mini wooden keurig! Seriously, the kid knows what to do in the kitchen, because she’s spent countless hours watching and “helping” me (stirring pretend batter in a mini mixing bowl with a mini spatula–too cute). 

Despite my issues with breastfeeding and PPA, it has been a magical year. I feel so lucky to have spent the last 375 days getting to know BG–she is a spectacular little kid! 

I’ll reiterate: It was all worth it. Every tear,  every needle poke, every penny spent, every fight with Mr. MLACS…all the *pain* of infertility and loss…has culminated into this beautiful child. 

I would do it all again!

XOXO,

MLACS

 

10 thoughts on “ONE!

  1. I love this! Happy first birthday to your dream come true! I said almost the same thing to a friend yesterday how it was ALL worth it and I’d do it all over again to have my son.

    • If only we could’ve known that we would have our happy endings (like if we could show our former suffering infertile selves the future) then it wouldn’t have been so bad. It was the not knowing, on top of all the disappointments and heartbreaks. I’m glad we stuck it out! XOXO

  2. Wow I can’t believe she is one! The party sounds adorable! So happy for you that your thoroughly enjoyed the first year of her life despite the challenges that you had.

Leave a Reply

