New(s)

 

Happy New Year ladies!

It’s been awhile…here’s my latest.

New Years Resolution:

I started out the month of December at 3lbs below my lowest pre-pegnancy weight (basically, the lightest I’ve been in a couple years).

But then I spent the month of December baking and eating ALL the things (tarts, pies, cookies, cake, etc.) and I ended up gaining 6lbs.

So when my good friend invited me to participate in a “dietbet” challenge, I had to seriously consider it, because I knew I could use the motivation in order to lose the holiday pounds and continue on to my goal weight (so about 20lbs total *ideally*). I decided to do a 28 day “transformation” challenge. How it works:

1. Pay your “bet” (mine was $25) and your money joins the “pot”.

2. Weigh in and send your pictures.

3. You have 28 days to lose 4% of your starting weight

4. If you reach the 4% goal, you win your money back *plus* a share of the pot. If you don’t reach the goal then you lose your money (and your money is split between the winners).

So I have until January 28th to lose a few pounds, which is totally do-able. I don’t have to change much, just cutting out treats (starbucks lattes and my homemade baked goods). It’s a bit of a challenge to “break up” with sugar (withdrawals) but after looking at my face in pictures (my athletic jawline is gone and my face is round) I’m ready to commit.

Christmas Review:

Mr. MLACS has been home since the beginning of December, and we’ve had a wonderful month and made a lot of special memories. The highlights:

1. Took BG to see The Nutcracker ballet.

2. Celebrated my 36th birthday.

3. Looked at Christmas lights.

4. Watched ALL the Christmas movies!

5. Participated in a family night of “gingerbread house construction” at a local bakery–ours turned out pretty cute and BG loved watching the little kids partying.

6. Had BG’s dedication at church. She wore the beautiful christening dress that my Mom left for me in my keepsake box.

7. Put up a Christmas tree with all the ornaments I’ve bought for BG. First time in our marriage that a tree has felt “right”. 

8. Celebrated Christmas just the 3 of us (plus pets). I sang and danced around the kitchen, entertaining BG while I cooked Christmas dinner (in my onesie pajamas). It was perfect. 

About BG:

This kid amazes me! She just barely started crawling at 8 months. But now at 9.5 months she’s pulling up, prefers to stand and play, and walks well with assistance. She will be walking on her own soon! She’s so brave too–she’ll let go of my hands and try to stand on her own.

I love watching her work through a challenge–she is a very determined little kid. I’ve watched a lot of kids and some of them just do things out of compulsion, without awareness. 

But BG is very deliberate in everything she does.

I’m still making her food but I’ve tried some of the organic squeeze pouches lately. They do taste processed (yup, I try them all) and she doesn’t prefer them, but I keep a fruit one in our diaper bag and when we go out to eat or visit a friend she’ll eat the pouches. I’m really stoked that my kid loves real food and dislikes processed food, because processed food is what made me sick and fat as a child and it is really hard to “quit” processed food once a child (or adult) develops a taste for it.

BG is currently cuddled up next to me on the bed–we still bedshare/cosleep. I put the mattress on the floor once she started crawling so that she won’t hurt herself if (when) she crawls off the bed. Lately bedtime is an absolute circus. BG will be tired but the moment we get to bed she’ll get this burst of energy and start acting nuts. She does “nursing acrobatics” (google it). She makes a game of trying to snatch my cell phone/battery pack charger. She talks to the wall. etc. etc. I am always exhausted and can only take so much of the antics before I get frustrated. I will ignore her. She will get mad and wail. I let her wail for 5-10 minutes. Then I nurse her to sleep. We do this every night and it’s ridiculous. But I have no desire to sleep train. 

About Me:

Well like I said before, I’m working on losing the holiday pounds this month. I need to make an appointment with my dermatologist because my Rosacea is super inflamed and the medicated gel I’ve been using isn’t cutting it. I’m afraid he’ll tell me I can’t try other treatments until I finish breastfeeding, and who knows when that’ll be (I’ve resigned myself that there’s no way BG will be ready to quit at 12 months). I know caffeine and spicy food inflame my Rosacea, but I have not committed to give them up (yet). Best I can do is scale back to just 1 cup of coffee per day (I LIVE for my morning coffee). There *must* be some magic pill to make this sh*t go away so that I don’t have to quit coffee completely. Please, God.

Oh! Almost forgot. I got my period last month. So I was waiting on it this month (had cramps, bloating, etc.) but it never came. I knew I wasn’t *you know what* but I POAS’d anyway, for the first time in 18 months–of course it was negative. But man, all those old feelings came rushing back. And my first thought was “I can’t wait to tell the girls (you) I POAS again”. Some things never change.

XOXO,

MLACS

14 thoughts on “New(s)

  1. Sounds like a perfect time celebrating Christmas with your girlie. I cried (happy tears) like a loser several times on Christmas. Sometimes it’s so hard to believe my man is really here. It reminded me when you posted about taking BG to see the nutcracker. I’ve been making my own baby food as well since I have a very unhealthy relationship with food and would love my son to fare better than me in that department. Do you use any sites or resources for “recipes” …if so I’d love to know. I currently use wholesomebabyfood.com but would love to have another place I can look for options. Best wishes to you and your family this new year and hoping bedtime gets a little better.

    • It sounds like you cried happy tears on Christmas! I totally get it–those “Omg this is everything I dreamed of” moment(s) are overwhelming. Happy New Year to you!
      I will check out your website. I ordered this book of recipes off amazon: http://www.amazon.com/201-Organic-Baby-Purees-Wholesome/dp/1440528993
      And it’s good, albeit very basic. Like Mr. MLACS and I still joke about the first recipe I tried, for banana puree–it literally says “peel banana, break banana in half, mash or puree half of the banana, eat the other half”. I paid $12 for *that*. But not all the recipes are common sense (ok but most are). I just do fruit and veggie purees and freeze them in 1oz cubes, and then make flavor combos that seem complimentary. Today bfast was sweet potato/winter squash/pear. Lunch was corn/blueberries and then beets/apple. Dinner was lentils, purple carrots, and prunes. All her meals are 4ozs and then more if she’s still hungry. She doesn’t eat much meat yet but I do have beef stew and chicken stew cubes (meat/poultry, carrots, onion, celery, potato, vegetable broth). Any recipes you recommend?

    • You’re a new mommy–when BG was tiny like Wyatt I ate a lot of lactation cookies, kind bars, and other sugary stuff b/c that’s what I craved (stuff with grains and fruit and dried fruit and a bit of sugar and chocolate. I just listened to my body. I say, you’re healing while caring for a very needy little human and you lack sleep, so eat treats as long as you’re getting nutritious foods too (and lactation cookies count as wholesome, says I). Weight is a non-issue since your uterus hasn’t even fully shrunk yet! XOXO

  2. Love the challenge concept! I was just posting about doing something 21-days or so. Cant really focus on the year term goals very well right now. I am so glad that you had a nice month at the end of the year! We did take some time at about BG’s age to teach the backward bed dismount once the bed was on the floor and it was so worth the effort. Hate to say it but we had the rev-up simply get worse at bed time. It was as if someone gave him an espresso when we werent watching or jolt cola. I dont mind the crying but we needed a way to wind him down without so many tears. That’s when we started with the indoor stroller. Absolutely still working! Wont even talk about the nursing acrobatics – I’ve got bruises from his chin from the last two rounds. Never knew nipples were so flexible…

    • I always appreciate hearing your anecdotes and advice, since we’re so similar! My nipples are sore from the teething and constant comfort nursing due to developmental leaps and the acrobatic nursing. According to the “wonder weeks” app (which is scary accurate) BG is going to be moody for several more weeks. Just shoot me. XOXO

  3. Nora doesn’t sleep in our bed but I rock her to sleep most nights and the past two weeks have been awful! She plays with my necklace, my glasses, the blanket, her binkie, anything within reach! It’s like gosh kid, can’t you just lay your head down and sleep! I don’t have much patience for it…

  4. I was just wondering how you’re doing and decided to check in for an update. 🙂 I’m so glad you had such a wonderful Christmas!!

    I totally get how all those feelings come back when you start poas again, especially when its bfn!

    The nursing acrobatics are in full force over here! My sister is horrified by how my boobs appear to travel with his head. Ehhh… it’s whatever. I love breastfeeding him so I’ll take it. 😉

Leave a Reply

