One Year Ago Today

2015-06-25 17.13.09

Hey ladies!

One year ago today, at 15dpo, I hesitantly took a FRER and saw those 2 unmistakeable pink lines…and now I’m holding my rainbow baby.

Mind. Blown.

I’m full of gratitude–rocking my sleeping babe in the nursery and listening to a gentle rainstorm outside my window. I like this time of day, when I can just surf the internet/buy things on amazon/zone out while cuddling my baby. I’m lucky I am able to stay home.

On the other hand, my kid now freaks out when I leave her sight for more than 2 minutes. She is 15 weeks old and I have only left her ONCE ever, for 1 hour–I drove to a nearby trail access and walked *all by myself* last week. What can I say? I expect this is a phase (Mommy clingy-ness) and she’ll grow out of it, and then I’ll miss it. It’s not easy though, having another human being *literally* dependent on you 24/7 with no breaks–no trips to the grocery store/gym/salon alone.

So working mommies–it’s a catch 22–I have no alternative care (not even my husband, because she freaks out on him) and no independence. Sometimes it makes me very irritable–I have always relished my freedom. Whenever I feel impatient/irritable I am panged with guilt, because my kid is amazing and if I was a better mom then I’d never want or need time away from her–I feel unworthy sometimes. Other times I feel like a martyr. This juxtaposition of feelings is strange and hard to justify/talk about. Working mommies should take comfort in the fact that SAHM’s have their own set of issues–but I concede that I am fortunate to be able to choose which set of issues I want to deal with.

So the baby…

Is doing great! She is babbling up a storm and loves to sing–she sings along with me and her favorite is Old Macdonald. It’s fun for me, too, because I just make sh*t up, like “…and on that farm he had a duckbill platypus, eeeyiii eeeyiii ooooohhhhh! With a *waddle waddle here* and a *waddle waddle there*, here-a-waddle there-a-waddle everywhere-a-waddle-waddle…” I was in the shower the other day and went through most of the animal kingdom in an attempt to entertain her long enough to wash my hair *and* shave my legs.

She is grasping things now and putting them in her mouth–she can also suck her thumb! And she drools a lot so she’s wearing bibs now (I like pippi bandanna bibs off amazon). She’s 25+ a quarter inches long (96th percentile) and weighs a scant 11lb5oz (10th percentile) *but* she is plumping right up now that I’m taking the Domperidone (for milk supply)! She gained 12oz in the past 2 weeks! Yay!

She smiles and giggles and frowns and grumbles–it’s so neat to see her personality develop. She is sensitive to stimuli but slowly over the last few weeks I’ve exposed her to things here and there, simple things like lifting the cover on her stroller so she can look around when we take walks or go to the store. Her eyes get HUGE and she is quiet while she soaks it all in. When I meet up with the ladies from my prenatal yoga group, she now notices and appears to be fascinated by the other babies, but she’s still too little to interact much. Her neck and back are pretty strong and she holds herself high off the ground during tummy time and likes when I hold her and let her stand up! I dread when she starts crawling because *pet hair*.

I’m on the hunt for a baby carrier we noth like because since we’re together 24/7 it would give me more flexibility/mobility. So far she hates (HATES) the Moby wrap but has warmed up to the maya ring sling. I just bought an Ergo performance but not sure I’ll keep it–I’ve done TONS of research and the top brands for buckle carriers are Tula, Ergo and Beco (in various styles). Tulas are a cult and I’m waiting until they come out with a print that I absolutely LOVE before I buy one and become a “Tula in the wild”. Beco just don’t impress me. And Ergo would be *perfect* except every style either has/lacks some feature that is a “deal breaker”. I would love an original model but I hate that the hood sticks out and isn’t detachable. The Ergo performance model is nice but there’s no color/print selection and for $140 I want something stylish/unique. Well actually it’s $180 because I need the infant insert. I went to a BWI (babywearers International) local chapter meeting & tried on a couple carriers & liked the Ergo. We’ll see what I end up with and *if* I can get my baby to go along with it. Any suggestions? I love my stroller too and use it a lot, but it’s not always practical.

And in closing, we celebrated Koa’s 1st birthday! He’s such a big boy now! He’s a happy-go-lucky, silly, sweet labrador but he is also intelligent and fiercely protective of me and the baby. Of course we got him a cake from a local doggie bakery and celebrated with a family luau complete with silk flower leis. Mr. MLACS loves to spoil Koa and he bought him a beautiful leather collar with matching leash and a new “big boy” bed. I love being Koa’s mom and can’t imagine our family without him โค

XOXO,

MLACS

21 thoughts on “One Year Ago Today

  1. I cracked up at the “waddle waddle” part haha. Yes, i have recently been introduced to the Tula cult by good old Judy Bacon when I was in Hawaii. Couldn’t tell what was so special about it. I have the ergo, never used it, an Onya, and a Lille Baby, plus a Baby K’Tan and a Deuter hiking pack. Of them I like the Onya for back carry which you can’t do yet, and the K’Tan. We had a hard time time with carriers until recently, I think it had something to do with her weight and head control, she just tolerated them better when she weight 15 lbs. As for Koa, I am so glad you guys got such a good dog and that he’s been such an awesome addition! There’s no way I could have handled a puppy until recently. Happy Birthday Koa!

  2. Now you must understand why I own 5 baby wearing devices (or thingies as the LP calls them). I hate the sling the most right now though used it a lot in early days with the MT. You hate my current favourite so I got nothing for ya! So awesome to hear about how Koa and your little girl are doing.

  3. I loved reading this and hearing about all the changes. ๐Ÿ™‚ Wishing you all the very best!

    Right now, I just have a Boba wrap. I received it as a gift, but I did research to see which things would work for plus size women and it seemed the best. Any other suggestions?

  4. Oh my how your family has grown this past year! I so feel your new mom space as I am also in the throws of the stay at home mom thing. Every situation has it’s own challenges for sure. I think I’ve had a 4 hour break in the last 7 months and I managed to both shower and sleep through it! Grandma wanted to hold him and wouldn’t be swayed. I have also recently just managed a store run without him and boy did it feel weird. You are doing awesome with her! Everything is easier with sleep. You should check out the Happiest Baby on the Block book. Good info on when “mile stones” aka cranky times are coming. We’ve been going over carriers but I thought I’d just say that we weren’t fans of the Tula’s or the Ergo’s. The new insert is better on the Ergo’s but it fit weird with chunk-a-do in it. But my wee is big and heavy and getting bigger and heavier all the time. We (the husband and I) like the K’tan (I have one I can send you if you want to try), Bjorn One and the Beco. There was a shop in SoCal that you could buy and try with a great return/exchange policy. You really have to try them on and use them under load to determine which ones will really work long term for you. I recall being shocked at how sweaty he got on one of our first longer hikes in the Beco. Did not expect it. The Bjorn became our long hot hiking carrier as it had better head support and venting. We also bought it in a silver mesh which made it best for sunny days. We have yet to use it as a backpack but that’s coming. The Beco just worked better where the straps hook and adjust for us. The Beco has a bigger level of adjustment and fits both of us well (up to a 59 inch waist julieann081)! Although I only like the Beco on cooler days. We found that like most baby gear it’s not just one and done.

  5. I like the Ergo, but SB disagrees. She prefers the woven wrap. At 8 months she’s getting a tad heavy for long walks with that… But she usually complains so much in the Ergo, and sleeps significantly less, that I go with the wrap anyway. Yay for small babies ๐Ÿ™‚
    Also, I think she’s more attached to me now than ever before, so I’m afraid the outgrowing might take a while… Enjoy the snuggles!

  6. There’s a local babywearing group I’ve been following too. I don’t think I’ll make a decision til our little man arrives. I’m so glad to hear motherhood is going well for you. And Happy Birthday to Koa! XO

  7. I have the same guilty pangs about W! I love her to pieces but I’m now relishing my days back at work! Don’t feel guilty, I’m she every Momma feels that way! xxx

  8. Gah epic fail on my part… I seriously haven’t been keeping up on blogs that I follow for the past like 6ish months (granted a lot has been going on) BUT I was just going to add… I have the original Ergo and I love it. Audrey HATED it when she was littler, if she was awake. Sleeping… happy baby. Awake… angry screaming baby. I’m sure you’ve encountered something similar. However, once she got a little bit bigger and was able to look around while in the Ergo, it was so much better. Now, she doesn’t scream or whimper at all. She is a happy camper and will sometimes just fall asleep while I’m,walking around with her. By far my favorite carrier that I’ve used so far. Though I do agree, the fact that the little hood thing doesn’t have a pocket or something to go into… that drives me nuts. I just tuck it in as best as I can, and thankfully, since I’m wearing it, I can’t see it anyway! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

