37 Weeks (What is Love?)

2015-02-16 09.55.0020150216_084326

Surely the baby plans to come early, because there is *no more room* for her in this belly! Seriously, my internal organs feel as displaced as they can possibly get.

Also we got a few inches of snow and here’s a cute picture of our puppy playing in it πŸ™‚ He’s a big handsome boy now! They grow up so fast… *sniffle*tear*

I hope you ladies had a nice V-Day. Mr. MLACS and I Β don’t take it very seriously. But we did get a couple boxes of chocolate covered strawberries, and Mr. MLACS let me have more than my fair share ❀ *that is love*

What is life like now? Well it’s GREAT since I have Mr. MLACS here taking care of me…

I sleep A LOT. But at odd hours. Depending on the day, I either take a long mid-morning nap or a lengthy late afternoon nap–from 2 to 2.5 hours. Mr. MLACS notices when I’m fading and he will pull me up off the couch and usher me to bed, where he will then move the cat out of my spot (the cat and I wrestle for prime real estate), adjust my pillow fort, lay me down, prop up my legs, plug in my cell phone, bring me water, and turn the channel to HGTV (my go-to). He’s like my own personal nanny πŸ™‚ *that is love*.

We go to bed at the same time at night (he repeats the same process *plus* he makes sure I take my meds). But he always falls asleep before me. I usually play with my phone, get up to pee at least twice, chew a couple tums and toss ‘n turn a bit before I fall asleep. Then we take turns waking up throughout the night to pee–if we wake up at the same time then Mr. MLACS is a gentleman and will pull me up off the bed so I can pee first. He also wakes up earlier than me most days and cares for the puppy while I sleep in a bit *that is love*.

Speaking of getting up…I much prefer him pulling me up as opposed to trying to get up myself. Whenever I have to go from sitting/laying to standing or if I have to bed over/bend down, I grunt/moan because *it’s hard*. Only 2 pairs of shoes are comfy now–slippers and tennis shoes. The tennis shoes have to be tied *but loosely because my feet swell*. I feel like I’m going to barf when I bed over to tie my shoes, so Mr. MLACS does that for me too *that is love*.

Mr. MLACS drives us everywhere–goes with me to all my (tedious, time consuming) appointments. He always offers door-to-door service when he drops me off/picks me up, whether it’s a doctor appointment or a grocery store trip *that is love*.

What’s more is that Mr. MLACS encourages me to spend time with my girlfriends. Last Friday he helped me clean the house so I could host the ladies from my prenatal yoga group. Then he graciously retired to the master bedroom with the puppy for a couple hours while the ladies (and a couple of infants) chatted over chili and cornbread–he waited to eat until after the ladies had their fill and went home *that is love*.

Mr. MLACS is affectionate without being overtly sexual, since he knows I feel guilty that we’re not having any sort of sex at the moment. I feel that I should be offering to please him (certainly he would offer if roles were reversed) but I’m tired/lazy and he has not given me any grief about it *that is love*.

I could go on and on about how great Mr. MLACS treats me, but I think you get the point. No amount of flowers or chocolates or other finery can hold a candle to the TLC and respect that my husband shows me. I try to do the same for him, although right now I think I’m pretty *spoiled* by him.

I tell him “You’re my favorite person”, and I really truly *mean it*. And he says “Only until our baby is born”. But I beg to differ. There is no comparison between a mother’s love for her husband and her love for her children. I told him “But YOU are my best friend! She can’t be my best friend, because she needs me to be her mother.” And don’t get me wrong, I want to share a strong bond with our daughter, but I want her to be able to look up to me–not treat me as her equal or worse, feel that she has to take care of me the way a partner should.

And I’m so very lucky to have Mr. MLACS as my partner. Even on our worst days, we are better together than we are apart.

I can’t wait to see him fall in love with our baby. She’ll surely be a “Daddy’s girl”. And while I may feel a little left out at times, I wouldn’t have it any other way ❀

XOXO,

MLACS

20 thoughts on “37 Weeks (What is Love?)

  1. First of all…you have the cutest baby bump EVER!! Seriously! I thought my SIL had the cutest…but you might have beat her. Secondly…your hubby sounds fabtabulous! And you are just sweetest and most amazing wife to recognize him as such. I have never “met” you, but from what I do know, you two are becoming one of my most favorite couples ever. Love you lots sweets!! xo

  2. We are almost there!!!! I am peeing four times a night and sleep has been totally out of the question. This is going to be the longest three weeks-ish of my life!

      • No, Dr. Angel only does cervical checks upon request, and since dilation doesn’t necessarily indicate labor, I am just going in “blind”. I can tell you that she is head-down and looks perfect. I’ve had some random braxton hicks but nothing else happening yet. Just met with our doula to finalize our birth plan/preferences. Have a few things left to do with the nursery and would like to freeze some more meals, but we are basically ready! I’m nervous but excited πŸ™‚ XOXO

Leave a Reply

