Moved (literally & figuratively)

2014-11-12-06-31-08--1600976175

So I’ve actually had a lot of *work* to do lately.

I had to pack up our apartment and orchestrate the move to our new house in the ‘burbs. I’ve been slowly unpacking and putting things away. Usually when we move I’m ready to spend big money at Target and Home Goods to accessorize and cozy-up the house. But this house already feels pretty comfy.

23w1d See ALL the things wrong with this picture as I haven't finished unpacking or done much laundry. Hence cartoon pajama pants, red solo cup, and stack of boxes. But the bump is cool :)

23w1d
See ALL the things wrong with this picture as I haven’t finished unpacking or done much laundry. Hence cartoon pajama pants, red solo cup, and stack of boxes. But the bump is cool 🙂

While I’ve slacked on my “domestic goddess” endeavors, I’ve taken to the task of preparing for birth** and motherhood**

Contrary to popular belief (myself included) dreaming up your registry for your baby shower and nursery on pinterest is NOT a way of preparing for birth or motherhood. I was being hard on myself for not being “pinterest-y” enough, but now I have to laugh at myself for even caring.

In my previous post, “MLACS Goes to Camp” I talked about attending a thoughtful yoga class that incorporated birth wisdom and discussion. My 6 week class just ended, and I got A LOT out of it–the most valuable thing being new friends ❤

Last Friday Mr. MLACS and I took the “Birth Intensive” class for couples (another class offered at “pregnancy camp”). It was four hours long but it was in the yoga room so I helped myself (and the other ladies) to pillows and yoga mats and made a comfy nest on the floor. I was captivated and got SO much out of it, and while Mr. MLACS grumbled that it was too long, he dilligently took notes. I’m now very excited to go through the birthing process with him–he’s everything I need.

Well, him and Dr. Angel. In fact we saw Dr. Angel the day before yesterday for a visit and had another scan at 23 weeks 1 day. Baby girl is wonderful! She measured right on target and is estimated to weigh 1.6 lbs now! She still likes to lay on her back with her legs kicked back over her head, toes touching her forehead–this delights me and cracks me up! My little yoga baby ❤

I talked to Dr. Angel about my birth plan and told him we’re planning to attend a “Hypnobabies” birth class starting in January. He was very supportive and, in fact, when I told him Mr. MLACS would miss some classes and asked if he’d like to come with me, he said “Yes!”

I love this guy–he’s always down to learn and try new things. How cool is that?!

I had a visit with a girlfriend yesterday, she is visiting from the PNW and had her little boy with her–he’s about 18 months old. She’s the kind of friend where we can go years–a decade–without talking, and then pick right back up. She is special in so many ways, but one unique thing is she was actually delivered on “The Farm” by Ina Mae Gaskin–the famous Midwife in the documentary “The Business of Being Born”. My friend gave birth to her son at her home, in her bathroom–the baby was delivered by her husband (though a Midwife was on-hand). How amazing is that? She asked me what kind of birth I want–lately that subject comes up a lot so I’ve had to think about it. I told her I’d deliver at the hospital I was born at–baby girl will be the 4th generation born at this hospital–and that I love Dr. Angel and trust him and Mr. MLACS, so no doula. I told her I want to labor at home as long as possible and avoid an epidural or interventions–our new house has a big beautiful bathtub. My friend was very encouraging, whereas I thought she might be judgmental, and I really appreciated that. She joked that maybe I’d have my baby in the tub at home…and honestly, I’d be ok with that if it happened.

I’m not scared anymore. I no longer assume that awful things are bound to happen to me during pregnancy and birth–my perspective has changed. I have a new confidence in my body–in my ability to be pregnant, give birth, and to be a good mother.

Do I still worry? Of course! I know too much. But I don’t *assume* the worst is yet to come.

Because maybe the worst is behind me…

*holds up a red plastic solo cup to toast*

“Here’s hoping!”

Cheers, my friends.

XOXO

23 thoughts on “Moved (literally & figuratively)

  1. How I love this update! I see nothing wrong with that picture. The first thing I see is your beautiful bump! And then I noticed the cup… My pee cup is that exact cup; that’s why I was laughing when I saw that. I am so psyched for you that things are going well. Dr. Angel sounds amazing! I can’t believe you’re over 20 weeks already. Time really flies. I am so happy for you that you’re doing pretty well emotionally. May the good things continue on. And update us more often!

  2. It’s great to see an update from you. You sound and look great. You’re going to completely nail the birth and motherhood. 🙂

  3. You look amazing, love! I’ve been thinking of you and am mega stoked all is well! Little girl is growing like crazy! I hope the moving nonsense goes swimmingly too. Cause that shit sucks. So excited for y’all!!!

    • Eeeek! I’ve missed you & been thinking about you! The moving wasn’t all smooth but it wasn’t drama either–I just shrugged my shoulders and rolled over the bumps 😉 Saw you updated & I’m excited to read your latest! XOXO

  4. Wonderful update!! Such great news and I love hearing the joy in this post! Your bump is so adorable I didn’t even notice the things wrong with the picture and thought, “what are the arrows for?” until I read the caption. 🙂 So happy to hear from you!

    • Well I took the pic and then had to laugh at all the chaos in it. But chaos is not always bad, I suppose! I’m looking forward to (slowly) making it feel like home for the holidays. Thank God for Kitters and Puppers or the house would feel empty when Mr. MLACS is gone! They take advantage of the extra space to chase each other around 🙂 XOXO

  5. Dr. Angel is amazing! I love my doctor and I believe she likes us too, but there’s no way she would attend birth classes with me! Glad you’re in the new house and starting to get settled, and don’t worry about it all getting done. It will eventually all fall into place. And I love your birth plan and I’m so happy you aren’t scared anymore! I too am so hopeful that everything will be okay and I have absolutely no doubt that you will be an amazing mother!

    As for the worry, how can we not, right? It’s impossible not too, but I also think that is also just part of being a mom 🙂

    Toasting you back my friend! ❤

      • Thanks lady! Gotta say–Dr. Angel is truly one-of-a-kind and I don’t know another doctor who would attend a birth class.
        I love your birth plan too–the skin-to-skin with daddy and then you will breastfeed at first opportunity–I’m creating a “if I have a c-section” addendum to my birth plan and these are 2 elements I will include! To me, a perfect birth is one that ends with healthy baby & mama 🙂
        What my yoga instructor/counselor says always rings in my ears: “You cannot control your labor/birth (the pain, any unforeseen circumstances, etc.) but you can control how you react to it”.
        XOXO

    • I think we can all agree that moving is a big pain in the a**?! Lol. But at least in this situation, I gained a lot out of it (better home *and* cheaper rent than the apartment). Hope you’re skipping right along through the (pain in the ass) first trimester 🙂 XOXO

  6. I hope that moving went well! I’m glad that you’re happy and things are going well. That’s so cool that Dr. Angel will go with you to the classes Mr. MLACS is missing! 🙂

  7. I’m so looking forward to the day I can email you all about hypnobirthing and fertility yoga. It is a huge accomplishment to feel at ease. I hope that feeling continues for you right through to when you get to hold your previous baby girl. ❤

Leave a Reply

