Moving

Hey ladies, figured I’d throw an update out there, in case you were wondering. I’m not going to do the “warning, pregnancy mentioned” cautions on my posts anymore–I think those of you who needed to have unfollowed me, and those of you who are still with me are expecting an update.

20141004_153746

Obviously, the puppy is doing well! He goes to “puppy daycare” 1-2 days per week for a few hours, so he can run around and play with other pups. He loves it! So do I–he comes home exhausted πŸ˜‰ I have a Halloween costume for him and he LOVES people so I think I’ll tag along with friends with kids and take him trick-or-treating πŸ™‚

2014-10-13 21.05.29

Mr. MLACS has been home with us the past couple of weeks. We’ve been busy, but there was one thing I was really looking forward to–the pumpkin festival. I wrote about the pumpkin festival last year (Click HERE to read that post) and it was painful for me to be there amongst all the preggos and families–I had hoped to have a baby in my arms this year…but instead I had a bump. I held Mr. MLACS’s hand as we strolled through the festival. I ate warm sugary pecans and I bought my baby girl a tutu and a headband–just because. Sounds like an average day but it was literally a dream-come-true for me.

images

We are moving on Halloween (to the house pictured above)–found a 3 bedroom house with a nice fenced backyard in a nice neighborhood for a good price (renting–not ready to buy yet). Mr. MLACS won’t be here, so we’ve hired movers to do the lifting. I still have to pack…uhg. But I cannot wait to plop a pumpkin on our front porch and call it home (at least until June, at which time the lease will be negotiated, we will buy it, or we will *sigh* move again).

We had our anatomy scan yesterday. I was nervous, as I’ve had some anxiety lately that was not present in the first trimester. I’ve only felt her move a handful of times. My Ulcerative Colitis has been “kicking it up a notch” and I’ve feared a full-on flare–but I think I’ve got it under control now, with nightly enemas (yay!)

But then I saw her today, with her body folded in half and her long legs kicked over her head–the sonographer joked she was doing a yoga pose. I saw her spine, her brain, her heart, her tummy, her kidneys…I smiled and exhaled the breath I’ve been holding these past couple of weeks. She measures right at 20 weeks and everything looks normal. I can still hardly believe it.Β I’m so, so grateful.

IΒ gained 3lbs these past 4 weeks but I’m still down -1lb from my pre-pregnancy weight, so that’s not bad. I still take the Zofran for nausea, but I’m down to 4mg once a day (in the evenings before dinner). I had blood work yesterday and happy to say I don’t have anemia (which justifies all the steak I’ve been eating), my TSH is a lovely 1.15, and my blood pressure is fine. I do still have some rectal bleeding and there’s not much I can do about that–it’s debatable whether it’s the combo of hemorrhoids/blood thinners, or if it’s inflammation from my UC. I do my best, and as far as the docs are concerned, I’m doing fine. Still doing my Heparin shots but instead of in my belly I inject on my sides around my hips, where the skin isn’t stretched. Dr. AngelΒ was impressed with how little I’ve bruised, though I do have a couple small ones and some knots.

In other pregnancy news, we had some professional pics taken last week and I’m planning on announcing–I wasn’t sure I would ever announce, but I want the support of family and friends and I want Mr. MLACS to be able to celebrate with his family and friends too (they are all spread out and none are nearby). I should get the picture CD from the photographer today. Plus I thought “Even if something goes wrong, I want to remember this time”.

I considered having a doula. But instead I’m going to train Mr. MLACS as my coach and rely on him and Dr. Angel–but most of all, I will rely on myself. I’ll explain more about the birth plan after I flesh it out. I’m thinking of using the Bradley Method. Also, my counselor/prenatal yoga instructor recommends 2 books by Penny Simkin, called “The Birth Partner” andΒ “Pregnancy, Childbirth, and the Newborn”. These are required reading when she teaches doula certification classes so they must be good–I have to go pick up my copies from Barnes & Noble this afternoon.

I have to start thinking and acting as though this baby is really on her way. I’m self-imposing time limits on social media and blogs, so if I’m not around as much it’s because I’m trying to stay off my phone and the computer and focus on the tasks-at-hand. Plus, I don’t even know where I belong anymore, truthfully. I’m trying to figure that out.

To my ladies who are struggling with infertility and loss, my heart goes out to you. I haven’t forgotten how that feels.

To my ladies who’ve gotten BFP’s in the last month or so–YAY! I anxiously await every beta and ultrasound update.

To my ladies who are beyond the 1st trimester (like me), I wish we could commiserate more about the changes we’re going through. It can be lonely being PAIL.

To my ladies who are parenting–thank you for your continued support. I still look forward to your updates! If you have started a new blog, please let me know.

XOXO,

MLACS

41 thoughts on “Moving

  1. You look amazing, and it looks like everything is going super smoothly! I love that the anatomy scan went perfect and the new house, YAY!! I love hearing such positive things πŸ™‚ XOX

  2. This was such an amazing post and I think I smiled from ear to ear the whole time I read it. Your dog is adorable, you look amazing, your house is gorgeous! I couldn’t be more happy for you! xo

  3. Yay!! So happy things are going so well for you! I love the new house! And your bump… it’s just the cutest πŸ™‚ My dog lays on the couch like that every night and snores his brains out with his ears flapped over. Gosh they are just so darn cute!

  4. Your dog is a perfect candidate for painting a skeleton on for Halloween. Google it. It’s so damn cute on black dogs. πŸ™‚ Was glad to see an update from you. Sounds like the baby girl is right on target. Hopefully you’ll move from anxiety to mostly excitement. House looks great. Exciting times!

  5. You and Koa look so adorable! I was just about to email you, I was worrying about you. So glad you updated and that the anatomy scan was a big success and relief. The house looks awesome – it feels as though things are really coming together. I’m so happy for you.

  6. Oh your pup is soooo precious!!! And I actually remember that post from last October. I think it was right around the time I started following you. I’m so glad this year you were able to go with your own bump! What a relief to hear how well the anatomy scan went. Isn’t it so surreal to see your baby?? Love that feeling! Just so happy for all the wonderful happenings in your life and look forward to hearing more. πŸ™‚

    P.S. I’m with you…not quite sure where I belong anymore, but still following along with everyone!

  7. 1) You are adorable. 2) Very happy that pumpkin festival was so much fun and you got to enjoy it while being pregnant. 3) LOVE the look of the house. 4) Yay for a great anatomy scan! 5) I will hire a doula although Bob currently thinks that we don’t need one. 6) Great to see your updates!

  8. Such a great update! I’m really happy for you that everything looks good and is right on time. I am also trying to convince myself that this is really happening, though I go through a push/pull in my mind. It’s a work in progress and it’s also temporary. Sending happy thoughts of moving into a beautiful new home!! Have fun setting up πŸ™‚

  9. Cant share enough smiles with you over this post! So happy for you both. That 20 week scan is a heavy one! When I think of all you have gone through… heck I’ve got 6 weeks left to go and all I can remember is when I was 6 weeks into this! Where does the time go?

  10. The home is beautiful and so is your bump! I’m so glad that the anatomy scan went well. ❀ I feel incredibly lost as to all the birth plan things you're talking about, so maybe I should do more commiserating? Hugs to you!

    • Yeah I’m glad I stumbled upon this birth prep/prenatal yoga class because I hadn’t really thought about any of it until these past couple weeks. Just bought those books & it’ll take me awhile to read them b/c I’ve got to pack & move (and unpack), but would suggest them. XOXO

  11. Yay! So happy everything went well at your anatomy scan and glad you found a house! I understand the need to limit the time you’re on social media. Out of sheer busyness lately, I’ve been having to do that too, but know I look forward to your updates πŸ™‚ you look great btw! Hugs.

      • I am so happy and SO busy! I have had family visiting and a ton of work to do, but I plan on updating tomorrow with my 30 week update and my shower πŸ™‚

        I am so happy you are busy and happy too. It’s hard to believe how different things are for both of us compered to where we were a year ago!

  12. The bump is adorable and the boots are pretty cute too! I just love fall πŸ™‚ I’m so glad your anatomy scan went well and that baby girl is growing strong. Congrats on moving into a house! I hope you’ll share nursery pictures whenever you get that all set up too – I bet it will be just gorgeous. XOXO

    • Thanks lady–fyi, those are $20 rubber rain boots from walmart, bought cuz it was super muddy. And Fall is my favorite! I’ll continue to update as I figure things out. Hope you’re enjoying the season! XOXO

  13. Koa is so cute, and so is that bump. I’m glad youre getting a new house for Kos, shell love it. I’m so glad the anatomy scan went well and looking forward to seeing the maternity pics

Leave a Reply

