You Can Take This Job And…

Oh yeah, yesterday was “the straw that broke the camel’s back”. I am diggity-done.  

The “training” I received consisted of me watching my supervisor work at the speed of light for 2 days without her explaining ANYTHING to me, but then asking me if I “have any questions”…Lady, where the hell do I begin?! I took a few patients on day 2, which sort of familiarized me with the computer program and order of events, but I had no idea that on day 3…I was expected to do everything seamlessly and almost independently…guys, this clinic is an urgent care clinic and they see 100+ patients a day and most of them are new patients (which means a lot more paperwork and data entry) and the clinic wants everyone’s waiting time to be 5 minutes or less in order to stomp the competition. HOLY BALLS. I was stunned that they just threw me in the mix on day 3. They are lucky I have worked at clinics similar to this one before or I would’ve just gotten up and left because it was so stressful–I sure as f* thought about just getting up and walking out–it was mind numbingly difficult…I had to concentrate so hard…I was just barely coping…my face was beet red and I thought my head might explode…

 Things I did Perfectly:

1. I greeted each patient as they walked toward the counter,asked if they would like to be seen, and asked if they had previously been seen at the clinic. If existing patient I verified their demographic (address, phone) info.

2. I asked for I.D. and Insurance cards (if new patient) and if they were current or not (existing patient) and scanned them into the computer

3. I explained the new patient paperwork, made sure all the new patient forms were signed, scanned them into the computer and labeled each file correctly in the patient’s chart (ex: HIPPA privacy practices form).

4. I made sure I entered the insurance info correctly (double checked the member & group numbers) and noted their copay in their chart.

5. I collected the copays and scanned the receipts to the patient’s chart AND recorded the copay in the system, accurately.

6. I scanned and allocated incoming lab results to the correct doctor to be reviewed.

7. I scanned lab orders and placed them in the bags with the correct specimens (urine, blood, culture).

8. At the end of day 3 I attempted to answer the phones and direct calls, which I handled appropriately (no one sitting on hold or getting hung up on).

9. I refilled the printer and the toilet paper without being prompted…I asked how I could help when they were busy and I was observing…I remained calm when a woman passed out cold (face first) in the waiting room on day 2 and an ambulance had to be called to transport her to the hospital…

10. I put up with having no lunch break (or even a break) on an 11 hour shift.

That is more than what they should dare to expect on day three at a clinic like this (for $11.50/Hour), and really, they are fools for letting someone so new take on so much responsibility because I could have really messed things up. I did make 3 mistakes that I know of

1. I checked in a patient under the wrong name/person (they don’t use people’s birth dates to look them up in the system, they use names, which has a larger margin for error).

2. I listed a guy’s middle name as his first name when I entered him in the system (then they called in scripts under the wrong name, but someone caught it before the patient left the building because they called him ‘Robert’ (his middle name) and he was like ‘my name is Andrew’)….and do you know what my b*tch supervisor said to me??? She said, “Do you not know how to read people’s names off an I.D.?” Thing was, it was 5pm and I was shaking from hunger and stress, having NOT EATEN or taken a break ALL DAY…that is why I made that mistake.

3. As I was learning the system while checking in 100 patients while trying to do everything quickly, I did scan a few documents to the wrong patient’s charts–BUT to my credit I caught all but one of those mistakes and corrected them–of course b*tchy supervisor caught the one I didn’t catch and redundantly told me “you can’t be doing that”. Assphinctersayswhat?

I could tell she was waiting for me to apologize and say “Oh my goodness I’m SO sorry” but I just looked at her and slowly nodded my head and resumed what I was doing–because what I wanted to say was…well I just wanted to punch her in the mouth. The supervisor was snide–I could tell she wanted to tell me off but instead she just kept looking at me sideways and using a nasty tone (um, same difference, she may as well have just spat it out). She rolled her eyes when I asked questions and flippantly said “I don’t understand what you want”. She gave me the evil eye. She knew I was floundering and NOT ONCE did she ask me if I was ok or if I was feeling comfortable with what I was doing–she KNEW I was uncomfortable. All I got was either silence or negative feedback. The “head” doctor ordered pizza for the staff and she didn’t even offer me any and I know it wasn’t because I’m gluten-free…it’s because she’s a b*tch. And the “head” doc that day is a dick compared to the other doctor (the one that hired me) and I guess he was riding my supervisor’s a** that day and I KNOW it’s annoying to train people but bottom line: she railroaded me right on outta there. And it’s not because she felt threatened by me–they LOVE her there and she really is a wiz at everything, but she has no business being in a supervisory position, because she doesn’t want to teach–I don’t think she wants the added responsibility, but she loves ‘running sh*t’ at the clinic. And hey, more power to her–but God have mercy on the new people that are supposed to be learning from her.

I had already planned to go out to dinner with a friend I call my “fairy godfather” (he’s older, wiser, and extremely resourceful) last night to discuss my options and I went straight to the restaurant in my scrubs and slammed a glass of wine before he even got there. I hadn’t eaten all day so I got a delightful buzz from it. And when “fairy godfather” showed up I ordered another glass of wine along with a phat dinner of prime rib, broccoli, and sweet potato *drool*. He waved away my concerns and entertained me by hitting on the very sweet young waitress (making her stammer and blush). I had another glass of wine for good measure. Since I had worked from 9a-8p with no lunch break and FedEx was delivering my package of fertility drugs today, I had begged the office at my condo complex to accept the package and put it in my garage, which they thankfully did, because their office closes at 5pm and doesn’t open until 9am and I needed to be at Dr. Angel’s office at 9am to learn how to give myself the Bravelle shots.

I woke up this morning with a hangover-ish headache (gawd that makes me feel old) and showered and got ready to go see Dr. Angel. I took the package of Bravelle out of the fridge (p.s. freedom pharmacy shipped it without any cold packs, is that bad?) and I set it on the kitchen table so I wouldn’t forget it…I was preoccupied thinking about how and when I was going to offer my resignation to the clinic, whether or not I would add any critique of my “training”…I was almost to Dr. Angel’s office when I realized I forgot the damn drugs and after the doc had most graciously agreed to squeeze me in on a Friday, I had to walk in the clinic with my ears and tail drooping and tell him I didn’t have my drugs with me. And bless his heart, Dr. Angel said “well aren’t you supposed to start the injections on Sunday?” and I said yes, and he said “well can you perhaps come in early on Sunday?” and I said yes–but didn’t want to inconvenience him–to which he replied it would be better this way because then he can take more time to go over everything with me, if I didn’t mind coming in at 7am–and I ask you…how lucky am I??? I mean, if I needed a ‘silver lining’ for this week this is IT.

And around 4pm today, I sent my resignation email to the (nice) doctor who hired me. I know, email is not the best way BUT he offered me the interview and the job by email, so since I only worked there a cumulative 26 hours, I figured I could quit via email, and after careful consideration, here is what I wrote (with names excluded):

Dr. Nice Guy–

Thank you for the opportunity to join your staff, but I am writing to you to give my resignation. I would definitely recommend ‘ABC’ to friends and family, as I believe you provide the best Urgent Care in ‘XYZ’. I appreciate how dedicated the staff is and how they synergize.

However, I would offer that if the “training” I received is how your other new front office employees are going to be trained, then you may expect a bumpy road ahead of you.

If you would like to have an exit interview with me then I’d be happy to take the time to give you some feedback that may help you retain your new front office staff and set your new clinic up for success.

Otherwise, I’d appreciate it if you could mail my check to:
(My Address)

Best Wishes,
MLACS

Then I waited on bated breath to see what Dr. Nice Guy’s response might be. And this was his email reply:

Wow, did I miss something?

I would definitely like to discuss what comments you have. If there is something to improve, obviously that is something we would like to do.

If you can give me a call at the clinic today I’d appreciate it, I’m here until 8 pm.

555-5555
Dr. Nice Guy

I know, really nice huh? I was thinking more like “go f* yourself, I hate myself for even considering hiring your ungrateful incompetent a**”. But obviously, Dr. Nice Guy has a touch of class. I thought about putting him off so I could take time to choose my words carefully…but then I thought “Nahhhh, I wanna get this over with so I can enjoy my weekend without anything hanging over my head”. So I called him. And I very tactfully told him what I thought–that he has a great thing going with his clinic and staff, but that the training lacks:
1.Objectives (these are the goals of the clinic, this is the role of the front office staff, etc.)
2.Expectations (our front office staff handles ‘xyz’. You are expected to be able to ‘abc’ within 2 weeks of training and to be able to fully integrate by ‘xyz’)
3.Method (how to train an employee, such as: explaining each task slowly–giving time to ask questions as the task is carried out–having the employee write down the steps to the task in a personal notebook to be reflected upon as needed–having the employee practice the task so that they’re comfortable BEFORE being expected to carry out the task during work flow).
I remarked that while I am not aware of the experience level of other new hires, I myself have gone through training to work at two other large and demanding clinics and I was overwhelmed, so I could only imagine how impossible the task might seem to others who have no medical office experience or those who have only worked in smaller offices. Not to mention, that a less experienced person who was thrown into the work flow as I was would most definitely make a lot more mistakes. AND YES, I ‘went with it’ since I had his ear and mentioned that, while his supervisor is extremely skilled at her job, she is NOT a good teacher and in fact was the antithesis of helpful. I mentioned that another coworker was the only one who actually offered to explain things to me and give me helpful tips on how to navigate their software, etc.
And Dr. Nice was actually quite appreciative and offered that he would still like to have me as part of the team, but I took that opportunity to add that I also had some personal reasons involved in my decision–but that ultimately it was yesterday’s events that tipped the scales (intoning that the option of me coming back was off the table). I told him I didn’t want him to feel as though my presence there was for naught, and I had reached out to offer the feedback because I genuinely want their new clinic to succeed. I told him that everything at the ‘home’ clinic seems to click because his staff is so dedicated and they work so well together–they have an unspoken system–but that that sort of synergy is non-transferrable so the new clinic will need to rely on clear objectives, expectations, and method. Yeah…I may have said too much. But you know what? F*ck it. I’m proud of myself. XO

17 thoughts on “You Can Take This Job And…

    • Ha! If you have the guts to face infertility and blog about it, then you have the guts to tell your boss to f* off. But here’s a quote that sums it all up:
      “There’s no such thing as work-life balance. There are work-life choices, and you make them, and they have consequences.”
      Jack Welch

      • Way to go! Love that Jack Welch quote, by the way! I quit a temp job once after 2 days of overwhelming/neglectful training. I wish I’d had the self esteem to understand that it was THEIR problem and the wherewithall to actually tell them!

      • Fragilehaven, I couldn’t have dealt with this situation so well when I was younger (and often intimidated and taken advantage of). But the great thing about being in myriad sh*tty work/life situations, is that I FINALLY had the opportunity to exercise the confidence I’ve gleaned from age and experience. And I do feel mild redemption for the crap I’ve put up with in the past. XO

    • Thanks Jess…I still feel weird about it, like “did that really just happen?” about the job and “is this really happening?” about the medicated cycle. I need to get perspective (everyone’s support is helping) but I think it’ll take a little time. XO

  1. Way to go! That job sounds like a nightmare, even if the training had been good.
    About the Bravelle, Freedom told me it doesn’t need to be refrigerated. Is that wrong? Because it’s been sitting in a box in my bedroom for 3 days.

    • Trust No One. They told me nothing and I assumed they were refrigerating it and that maybe it was a fluke that it wasn’t packed with cold packs–which I dismissed because it’s cold outside. Vut we’d better look into this further–I will first call them to ask WHY their Bravelle doesn’t require refrigeration (I need to order an HCG shot anyways). They have previously offered that I can speak to a pharmacist, and dammit, now I guess I have to. Thanks for bringing that up! XO

Leave a Reply

