PUMPKIN EVERYTHING! (“pregpocalypse” and lets chat about my upcoming HSG)

An abundance of pumpkins!

An abundance of pumpkins!

It’s fall season, and I’m livin’ in the heartland (the Midwest) where harvest time is cause for great celebration in the form of festivals. There are many “mascots” for fall season: scarecrows, corn husks, apples, and of course PUMPKINS.
I’ve been joyfully indulging in all things PUMPKIN, including the pumpkin spice latte (PSL), the pumpkin scone, pumpkin muffin, pumpkin bread, pumpkin bagel…I’m still due for some pumpkin pie and pumpkin cheesecake (which I will probly make for Thanksgiving dinner).
I made some pumpkin chocolate chip cookies for Mr. MLACS today (and yes, I tested a couple of them–they’re marvelous). In case it’s not obvious, I haven’t been sticking to a gluten-free diet…I’m actually on a see-food diet: I see food and I eat it! Lol, totally corny joke to trivialize the fact that I need to clean up my act. Start juicing again. Stay off the gluten for more than 5 days in a row. Hit the gym. Etc. They say the first step to solving a problem is admitting that you have a problem. Step one, check! I’ll get back to you on step two.

I quasi-tricked Mr. MLACS into going to a fall festival with me this weekend…a PUMPKIN festival! It’s always been my favorite festival. It takes place in a sleepy riverside town with a population of 106 people. It’s full of food: pork burgers, hot dogs, funnel cakes, corn-on-a-stick, kettle corn, fried oreos, homemade ice cream, etc.
And there’s lots of crafts, plus entertainment for the kiddos (maze of hay-bales, face painting, pony rides, etc.) and an adorable PUMPKIN patch, with pun’kins of all shapes and sizes, where you can purchase a blazing orange gourd the size of a tractor wheel (and then drag it through a corn field back to your car as your prize for sitting in traffic for an hour behind all the thousands of would-be festival go’ers making the annual pilgrimage into a town that only has one road).

I didn’t warn Mr. MLACS that we would be inching along in traffic for an hour just to get to this PUMPKIN-studded event, but he chuckled at me good-naturedly. When we got there the first thing I spotted was a booth selling cowhide rugs–I’ve been wanting a cowhide rug since we moved to the Southwest 2 years ago–and the lady was selling them for $150. Sweet. It’ll go well with the horned cow skull I snagged in Taos (that I refuse to part with).

The second thing I noticed was ALL the pregnant women. Fall festivals are great for families, so it should be no surprise. But geez. Instead of the zombie apocalypse it was like “pregpocalypse”.

I didn’t mention anything to Mr. MLACS, but I know that he noticed it too. I pointed a couple things out, like “that’s the kind of baby carrier I want, the kind that wraps” or “they brought the wrong kind of stroller; we’ll have an all-terrain stroller that we can use on dirt and gravel”. We stopped at a big pumpkin patch and I took a couple pictures…amongst all the mommies who were taking pictures of their little ones climbing all over the giant pumpkins…

Mr. MLACS sensed that I am desperately hoping to walk around this festival next year with our baby in the baby carrier, taking pictures next to the giant pumpkins. But I shed no tears. I didn’t even wince. I did however avoid a couple girls I went to high school with (we are ‘friends’ on facebook) because I didn’t want to say “hi” to them and meet their husband and 2.5 adorable children. Nope, I hissed at Mr. MLACS to cross to the other side of the street.

So, the PUMPKIN festival was a treat–but also a reminder that we are SO ready for our own little pun’kin (my Mom used to call me Pun’kin).

In other news, I scheduled my HSG for this Friday October 18th. E’rybody says they hurt. A LOT.

For those of you that have had HSG’s, what should I expect? How should I prepare myself? Should I have someone drive me and pick me up? Will I be laying down for the rest of the day? Will I still feel like crap on Saturday as well? I have access to Naproxen and I plan to take it before the procedure, and I have Vicodin if I should need it afterwards, but what worked for you? Thanks in advance for your input–I owe each of you a PSL. XOXO

Homemade-Pumpkin-Latte4

14 thoughts on “PUMPKIN EVERYTHING! (“pregpocalypse” and lets chat about my upcoming HSG)

  1. ♥ this blog & it made me miss you a whole bunch!!! We are def talking tomorrow. As for the hsg, mine was fine. A little pressure and that’s it. But it do have monster period cramps so I think I’m always amazedwhen people are like “feels like bad period cramps” and then I doesnt. I do, however, think that taking the naproxen is a brilliant idea.

  2. Oh my goodness.. “Instead of the zombie apocalypse it was like “pregpocalypse” This is hilarious! I read it to my husband and he laughed as well. I can tell that’s going to be a joke between us now when we go to places like that. The festival sounds like something I would absolutely love! I also love everything pumpkin! So glad you had a good time and stayed strong. I also hope that you have a little one in a carrier next year.

    As far as my HSG, I was expecting it to hurt so bad. My sister is an X-ray tech and she’s seen women cry. I had myself freaked out with all the things I read. But it wasn’t bad at all. It wasn’t any worse than the pain of a miscarriage (I think the miscarriage was MUCH worse as far as cramping). I literally cramped for about 30 seconds (maybe less) when they injected the dye. I then had to turn on my left side and right for the dye to run into my tubes. I have heard that if your tubes are blocked it does hurt more. I took 800 mg of Advil and hour before the procedure. My husband did come with me just for emotional support and I read horror stories about it.

    One thing I wasn’t expecting is that I had a brief emotional breakdown after the procedure that night. I was overwhelmed with all the testing, the lack of answers, having to put my feet in stirrups for the 1,000th time. I don’t know if that’s the same for everyone, but I did find it emotionally draining. You know, just one more damn test!

    Sorry this is a little long! Best of luck Friday!

    • Thank you my friend! I’d rather make you laugh than frown so I’m glad you appreciated “pregpocalypse” (it makes me giggle too!) I appreciate your input on the HSG, and maybe it won’t be so bad after all? XO

  3. Such a double edged sword the holidays and just enjoy normal outings sometimes. Kudos to you for being so positive and not losing it!

    As for the HSG, I’ve had two of them and barely felt them at all. I took advil the first one and a vicodin for the second one. I think it’s only painful for people who have blocked tubes. It should feel more just like bad period cramps. (although I felt absolutely nothing on my second one with Vicodin)… Take the vicodin BEFORE the procedure. You shouldn’t need anyone to drive you. Also, the tech who’s done mine both times said to always request a “5 french catheter”. This is the teeniest one they have, so using it will make it more comfortable. Try not to stress. It really is a breeze for most people. You will probably be surprised at how fast it’s over.

  4. I second the advil/naproxin/vicodin if you have it suggestions. It seems to me that it feels different for everyone. mine was less cramping and more piercing and it went on for a minute or so until the catheter was out. I would have been happier for something other than advil. Once the pain stopped though, it stopped, so I didn’t have a need for longer term management. I hope your the sort who finds it a breeze or only mildly uncomfortable! As for pregopocolyspe…seriously. I don’t think I’ve ever SEEN so many pregnant people. I blame Valentine’s Day. Or at least the cold, dark days of winter. I wonder if there are as many people pregnant in the southern hemisphere!

  5. I’m secretly relieved that my family’s annual trip to the pumpkin patch was cancelled due to the crappy weather, because it’s just too hard seeing all the happy families and babies.

    My HSG was no big deal. The procedure lasted only about 15 minutes. I was in and out and back to work in less than an hour. It was really cool, because the doc explained what he was seeing on the screen (mostly to distract me, but it was neat, anyway). It hurt like hell for about 1 minute, but I had no lasting pain. I didn’t take anything for pain before, but I don’t think it would have helped. I’ve heard it’s more painful if your tubes are blocked, so there’s really no way to know for sure how painful it might be for you. Good luck!

  6. I hear ya – pregnant women everywhere! I’m so glad you were still able to enjoy yourself. I truly believe you’ll be there next year with your baby! I don’t know much about HSG other than I’ve heard of women who got pregnant shortly thereafter. I bet this happens for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

